Why Isn’t Find My iPhone Working?

The following issues can cause Find My iPhone to stop working:

The feature isn’t active.The iPhone has no power or is off.The SIM card has been removed.The device date is wrong.Find My iPhone isn’t available in your country.You’re using the wrong Apple ID.Your phone’s version of iOS needs an update.

How to Fix Issues With Find My iPhone When You Have Your Phone

Take the following steps, in order, to get Find My iPhone working again. These fixes apply when your device is on hand and you can change settings.

How to Fix Issues With Find My iPhone Without Your Device

It’s harder to troubleshoot a device you don’t have, but if you can’t locate an iPhone or other Apple device on Find My, you can still try a couple things. First, make sure you’re signed in to the right Apple ID. You can only use the iCloud website to find devices that use the same Apple ID you use to sign in. If you’re using someone else’s computer to find your phone, for example, odds are good they’ll be signed in. Optionally, select Send My Location, which will automatically upload your phone’s location to Apple when the battery runs out. Unfortunately, if your phone has been dead for longer than 24 hours, Find My or Location Services aren’t on, or it can’t access a network, your options for finding it are limited. You should contact your carrier first. They may not be able to locate the device, but they can suspend its service so nobody else can use it.